Home

During my summer holidays I was assigned the task to create a photographic essay.
To begin my photographic essay I’m going to research what a photographic essay is. From the name of them I believe they are a series of photographs that tell a story of some kind, I recently got a job working with special needs children so I think I may do my essay based around my day to day work life with them.

What is a photographic essay?

I have decided to do some online research into what photographic essays are, how to create one and what photographers are known to create them.

Wikipedias definition of a photographic essay:
A photo-essay (or photographic essay) is a set or series of photographs that are intended to tell a story or evoke a series of emotions in the viewer. A photo essay will often show pictures in deep emotional stages. Photo essays range from purely photographic works to photographs with captions or small notes to full text essays with a few or many accompanying photographs. Photo essays can be sequential in nature, intended to be viewed in a particular order, or they may consist of non-ordered photographs which may be viewed all at once or in an order chosen by the viewer. People who have undertaken photo essays include Bruce Davidson*, W. Eugene Smith*, Walker Evans*, James Agee*, David Alan Harvey*, and Andre Kertesz*.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Photo-essay

Ask Jeeves definition of a photographic essay:
A photo essay is a collection of images that are placed in a specific order to tell the progression of events, emotions and concepts in a story. Essays of this genre are commonly used by photojournalists with unique techniques and creativity. Lauren Greenfield*, James Nachtwey* and Joachim Ladefoged* are examples of famous photojournalists who have at one point used photographic essays.

http://uk.ask.com/question/what-is-a-photo-essay

My definition of a photographic essay:
I think a photographic essay is a series of photographs which tell a story whether it be political, social or any other subject you want it to be about.

After doing my research on photographic essays I noticed in my previous studies, my essay was staged so I think that it would be classified as sequence photography but looking at a lot of websites that go through ‘ideas for photographic essays’ I do believe that it could kind of fall into the photographic essay category.

Leave a Reply

